16 students win $17,450 in Student Pubs scholarships for 2022-23

WKU Student Publications recently announced 16 recipients of $17,450 in scholarship awards for the 2022-23 academic year.

The scholarships were announced April 29 at the end-of-the-year garden party celebration for Talisman, the College Heights Herald, Student Publications Advertising and Cherry Creative.

Students gather for the 2022 Student Publications Garden Party, where 16 students were awarded more than $17,000 in scholarships.

The scholarships are funded through 12 endowments housed in the College Heights Foundation that generate scholarship funds reserved for students working at Student Publications. The endowments were created by alumni and friends of WKU Student Publications.

The scholarships awarded and recipients for 2022-23 are:

Robert R. Adams Journalism Scholarship
  • Debra Murray, a rising junior from Louisville, $1,400.
Bryan Leigh Armstrong Memorial Scholarship
  • Madison Carter, a senior from Shepherdsville, $400.
James D. Ausenbaugh Scholarship
  • Jolie Finley, a senior from Bowling Green, $650.
Donald E. Collins Scholarship
  • J.T. Steele, a rising junior from Bloomfield, $1,800.
  • Arthur Trickett-Wile, a post-baccalaureate student from San Antonio, Texas, $1,000.
Michael P. Collins Memorial Scholarship
  • Veronica Teeter, a rising senior from Carmel, Indiana, $400.
Judith Koch Ecker Memorial Scholarship
  • Ragan Harrington, a rising sophomore from Nashville, $500.
Miss Frances Richards Scholarship
  • Alexandra Hendricks, a rising senior from New Windsor, New York, $1,400.
  • Damon Stone, a rising junior from Scottsville, $400.
Paul and Ellen Schuhmann Student Publications Scholarship
  • Cristina Betz, a rising senior from Rosell, Georgia, $2,500.
  • Michael Crimmins, a rising junior from Glasgow, $2,500.
  • Michael J. Collins, a rising senior from Finchville, $1,000.
Lowell L. and Opal F. Valentine Scholarship
  • Tucker Covey, a junior from Woodstock, Georgia, $1,400.
Elliott Wells Memorial Scholarship
  • Camden Bush, a rising sophomore from Lexington, $400.
David B. Whitaker Scholarship
  • Alaina Scott, a senior from Louisville, $1,400.
Red O’Donnell Scholarship and Outstanding Continuing Student Award
  • Charles “Jake” Moore, a rising senior from Louisville, $500.

You can find more information on the namesakes of our scholarships here.